For Earth day 2013, why not learn a new earth-friendly skill?

With my students I like to recycle paper. It’s a nice activity, and many creative projects can come from it. Journal covers, project paper, you name it!

One of my students said the most interesting thing while we were recycling last time:  “Teacher. We are using water and energy for the blender. Are we really helping the planet?”

I had no comeback. I didn’t think about it until later that night: plug up your bathtub the next time you take a shower! I mean, who cares if your filth and sweat ends up in the paper. It’ll just have a bit more love in it! Also, you don’t have to blend with a electric device. You can crush the pulp. Anyhoo, since a picture is worth … you know… a bunch of words… check out the details below.

This photographic essay is called Barnabas Collins’ Guide to recycling paper. Photos by Mack Mackenzie Smith.

DSCF0710

You want me to do WHAT?

Step 1: Conquer your fear of garbage. Find a nice trash site that contains the following paper recycling must-haves:

1) a wire coathanger

2) pantyhose

3) a bucket

4) a mashing tool

5) sheet plastic

Step 2: Prepare your pulp

DSCF0713

Well, I say, this wheel ought to do fine for my motorcar.

DSCF0714

My word, some bourgeoise miscreant has done away with a perfectly good electronic organ!

DSCF0720

Oh, fine. Let’s see… paper, coat hanger…

DSCF0718

No, I’m not going to. I refuse.

DSCF0673

You bloody post-consumer paper! Feel my wrath!

1) Rip up your paper into nice, small pieces

2) Add water and white glue to your mixture

3) DO THE MONSTER MASH! Make sure the mixture is mashed thoroughly.

DSCF0681

Zounds! What alchemy is this?

DSCF0692

You’re telling me modern women wrap their legs in plastic? I may have been asleep for the last century, but I really did not expect this.

Step 3: Time to make your paper.

1) Stretch the pantyhose over the wire coat hangers to make a frame.

2) Use your pantyhose frames to squeeze and squish all the water out of the pulp.

3) Shape your pulp like sheets of paper. Or anything you like, really. You could make them into masks, wallpaper, biodegradable underwear… hey, use your imagination.

DSCF0700

Thank goodness that’s over. Now just fifty more to go. Sigh.

DSCF0697

Alright, pantyhose hanger. It’s squishing time.

DSCF0698

Ewww. No one told me it would be this wet. My manicurist will slay me.

Let it dry and voila! Recycled paper. Happy Earth Day, Earth!

DSCF0706

Yay! I’ve done my part to save the world. Now I’m off to massacre a village.  Good night, my eco-conscious darklings!

Comments
  1. ronawrites says:

    Hahaha The pictures just make this post even more awesome 🙂

Leave a Reply

